Update On My Oklahoma Internship

 

Hey there, everyone!

What an amazing and crazy two weeks it has been! We’ve all been very busy, but I can clearly see God blessing this ministry.
The first ten days of being here in Oklahoma was actually spent at a place called Eagle Springs. The first three days that we were there, we took time just to renew our walk with the Lord and purify our hearts, which was wonderful and then we spent five days training and that was intense!!!! We even had homework to do! And let me tell ya, for not being in high school for two years, doing homework is rally strange.
We Level 1 people had to learn a lot during those five days as we had never done the program before and it was powerful to see the staff here so passionate about what In The Gap is doing. When I finally realized the dire situation that most of these inner city children are in, I cried for a solid half-hour. The lives of these children are just so messed up, and though we cannot talk about Jesus in the schools, just being able to teach them good character (character that Jesus would possess) is wonderful! It has helped a lot of the children to become better children and not get mixed up in gangs like they do in this city.
Once training was done, we came back to Oklahoma City and the very next day, I became ill. I thought nothing of it and thought it was just one of those 24 hour bugs but by Monday morning, it was full-blown sickness and I had to stay quarantined in my room. I was so ready to teach on Monday but God wanted me to stay back and pray for the rest of the interns and the teaching ended up going well. Come Monday evening though, I had a scary situation. I almost fainted! For those of you that have never fainted/passed out BE GLAD!!! Basically, I was not putting enough food and water in me to combat the sickness and when I went to move, I moved too quickly and I almost passed out. If I had not been in a sitting position, I definitely would have fainted. God was merciful to me and after that incident, we got tons of things pumped into me so I don’t have another spell.
Today finds me still sick and quarantined in my room, but once again, I prayed for the interns and the schools and I cannot wait to hear the report.
I want to thank all of you that are diligently praying for me. It means so much and I have had a wonderful time getting to know some of the other interns and staff. I has been a blessing so far.

God bless,
Chelsea

Leave a Reply

